Mr Antonio Tajani

President of the European Parliament 60, rue Wiertz 1047 Brussels

Dear President,

European road freight transport plays an important role in the European Union's economy, employing around three million people in some 600,000 enterprises. Its effective functioning and competitiveness are crucial in creating EU GDP and stimulating jobs.

We, the Ministers responsible for transport in Poland, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary and Bulgaria are of the opinion that the sector deserves a fair and robust EU legal framework, which will further stimulate its development and well-functioning Single Market, while ensuring realistic and enforceable rules.

The finalisation of works on the Mobility Package I in the European Parliament coincides with the approaching end of the eight legislature of the EP, and hence is subject to a very tight framework. This puts the Members of the EP under extreme time pressure to reach compromise. Such pressure resulted so far in reinforcement of divisions among Members of the Council of the EU, as well as Members of the EP.

In these circumstances, we fear that instead of balanced provisions supporting the European road haulage and improving drivers' working conditions, these rushed proceedings may result in agreeing solutions which, in fact, will jeopardise an effective and efficient functioning of this sector. This is especially worrisome since the enacted solutions will have long term effects not only on the transport sector, but also on EU economy.

We consider that allocation of a longer time which will allow for a proper debate in the European Parliament on this dossier is of utmost importance.

Therefore, we urge you to reflect on the possible negative consequences that these hasty and last minute proceedings in the EP might have on the road transport sector and the EU economy in the broad context.

Yours sincerely,

Andrzej Adamczyk

Minister of Infrastructure of the Republic of Poland

László Mosóczi

Minister of State for Transport, Hungary

Tālis Linkaits

Minister of Transport of the Republic of Latvia

Rokas Masiulis

Minister of Transport and Communications of the Republic of Lithuania

Rossen Jeliazkov

Minister of Transport, Information Technology and Communications of the Republic of Bulgaria CC: Mr Manfred Weber, Chairman of the EPP Group in the EP

Mr Udo Bullmann, President of the S&D Group in the EP

Mr Syed Kamall and Prof. Ryszard Legutko, Co-Chairmen of the ECR Group in the EP

Mr Guy Verhofstadt, President of ALDE Group in the EP

Ms Ska Keller and Mr Philippe Lamberts, Co-Presidents of the Greens/EFA in the EP

Ms Gabriele Zimmer, President of the GUE/NGL Group in the EP

Mr Nigel Farage, President of the EFDD Group in the EP

Mr Nicolas Bay and Mr Marcel de Graaff, Co-Presidents of the ENF Group in the EP

Ms Violeta Bulc, Commissioner for Transport, European Commission

Mr Rovana Plumb, Minister of Transport of Romania, Presidency of the Council of the EU.